Warning

Warning

Invalid configuration found. Contact the administrator.

 
History of success: cheese maturation

Everything about cheese

Germany is a cheese country. In Germany, almost 25 kilograms of cheese are consumed annually per person and 1.1 million metric tons are exported. From the North Sea to the Allgäu region in the very south of Germany, large and small dairies offer around 150 regional and national cheese specialities. Cheese production is a traditional trade that has not changed for centuries. However, even though the principles have not changed, modern technology always finds its way into cheese production.

Task

The cheese dairy Gebr. Baldauf GmbH & Co. KG operates several small village dairies in the Allgäu region, where cheese quality is to be optimized with the aid of heat treatment chambers. In addition, during the ripening process themophile cheese cultures are used which ensure a milder taste. While conventional, mesophilic cultures work optimally in temperatures as of 25 °C, their thermophilic counterparts require significantly higher temperatures. However, the process can be controlled very precisely via the pH value. At 2 locations the heat treatment chambers should therefore be controlled by a temperature profile and the process controlled very precisely via the pH value so that a consistently high product quality is guaranteed. The process data should be acquired and remote access must be possible via the Internet.


The cheese dairy Gebr. Baldauf GmbH & Co. KG

Solution approach

All these requirements were met with the JUMO mTRON T automation system, the JUMO AQUIS touch multichannel measuring device, as well as JUMO temperature probes and pH electrodes. The JUMO mTRON T system has a modular design. Consequently, a wide variety of measured values can be precisely acquired and digitized. The solution for the cheese dairy in the Allgäu region is completely operated via individual process screens. The screens enable program selection, program start, and entries in a batch field. The pH value in the cheese is measured by a JUMO AQUIS touch using an insertion electrode while the temperature is measured using an insertion probe. The heating chambers in both alpine dairies are linked to the company's head office. The batch data from the plants are extracted on the server at the headquarters and relevant form printouts are stored on the server as PDF documents.

JUMO mTRON T multifunction panel

JUMO mTRON T multifunction panel

Control cabinet dairy maturing chamber

Control cabinet dairy maturing chamber

Project outcome

The customer wanted a complete solution that was simple and decentralized to operate while not wanting to worry too much about technology. JUMO not only supplied the required components, but also took care of the complete implementation.

Warnung

Warnung

Ungültige Konfiguration gefunden. Wenden Sie sich an Ihren Administrator.

 
Erfolgsgeschichte Käsereifung

Alles Käse

Deutschland ist ein Käseland. Pro Kopf werden jährlich fast 25 Kilogramm verzehrt, 1,1 Millionen Tonnen gehen in den Export. Von der Nordsee bis zum Allgäu werden von großen und kleinen Molkereien rund 150 regionale und nationale Käsespezialitäten angeboten. Die Käseproduktion ist ein traditionelles Handwerk, das sich in den letzten Jahrhunderten nicht verändert hat. Doch auch wenn die Prinzipien nach wie vor unverändert sind, so hält doch immer moderne Technik Einzug in die Käseproduktion.

Aufgabenstellung

Die Käserei Gebr. Baldauf GmbH & Co. KG betreibt im Allgäu mehrere kleine Dorfsennereien, in denen mit Hilfe von Wärmebehandlungskammern die Käsequalität optimiert werden soll. Dazu kommen während des Reifeprozesses themophile Käsekulturen zum Einsatz, die für einen milderen Geschmack sorgen. Während herkömmliche, mesophile Kulturen bereits ab 25 °C optimal arbeiten, ist das bei ihren thermophilen Verwandten erst bei deutlich höheren Temperaturen der Fall. Dafür kann der Prozess sehr präzise über den pH-Wert gesteuert werden. An 2 Standorten sollten deshalb die Wärmebehandlungskammern mittels eines Temperaturprofils geregelt, der Prozess sehr präzise über den pH-Wert gesteuert und dadurch eine gleichbleibend hohe Produktqualität garantiert werden. Die Prozessdaten sollten erfasst werden sowie ein Fernzugriff via Internet möglich sein.


Die Käserei Gebr. Baldauf GmbH & Co. KG

Lösungsansatz

All diese Anforderungen konnten mit dem Automatisierungssystem JUMO mTRON T, dem Mehrkanalmessgerät JUMO AQUIS touch sowie mit JUMO-Temperaturfühler und -pH-Elektroden realisiert werden. Das mTRON T System von JUMO ist modular aufgebaut. Somit können verschiedenste Messwerte präzise erfasst und digitalisiert werden. Bei der Lösung für die Käserei im Allgäu erfolgt die Bedienung komplett über individuelle Prozessbilder. Diese ermöglichen die Programmauswahl, den Programmstart sowie die Eingabe eines Chargenfeldes. Der pH-Wert im Käse wird mittels JUMO AQUIS touch über eine Einstichelektrode und die Temperatur über einen Einstichfühler gemessen. Die Wärmekammern in beiden Sennereien sind mit dem Stammhaus des Unternehmens vernetzt. Die Chargendaten der Anlagen werden auf dem Server der Zentrale ausgelesen und entsprechende Formularausdrucke als PDF-Dokument auf dem Server abgelegt.

JUMO mTRON T Multifunktionspanel

JUMO mTRON T Multifunktionspanel

Schaltschrank Molkerei Reifekammer

Schaltschrank Molkerei Reifekammer

Projektergebnis

Der Kunde wollte eine Komplettlösung, die einfach und dezentral zu bedienen ist und wollte sich nicht zu sehr um Technik kümmern. JUMO lieferte nicht nur die benötigten Komponenten, sondern kümmerte sich auch um die komplette Realisierung.