Warning

Warning

Invalid configuration found. Contact the administrator.

 
History

Travel with us through 70 years of JUMO history

Moritz Kurt Juchheim founded today's JUMO GmbH & Co. KG in Fulda under the name M. K. JUCHHEIM KG. He started manufacturing glass thermometers as well as glass contact thermometers with 6 employees on a 350 m² production area. He was born on July 4, 1910 in Ilmenau, Thuringia where his father already produced thermometers. From the very beginning, Moritz Kurt Juchheim focused on high-quality devices and the best possible customer service. The name JUMO is derived from the initials of the company founder. Come with us on a journey through the moving history of our company.

From glass thermometer to the sensor – from Fulda to Europe

1949-1979

Even before the establishment of 2 German states, the thermometer factory "M.K. Juchheim" was established in Fulda and already exhibited at the Hannover Messe in 1949. Konrad Adenauer became Federal Chancellor. In the years of the economic miracle the Fulda-based company also flourished. By 1952 it had grown from 6 to 100 employees and by 1970 this number had increased tenfold. The production area increased from 350 to 12,000 m².

In 1966 the production of platinum glass sensors began. Measuring and control devices on an electronic basis were added to the product range. While the world mourned the breakup of the Beatles, Moritz Juchheim founded the first subsidiary in Belgium in 1971. This was the step that began internationalization. In 1978, JUMO was the first company to use processors in control technology.

New developments up to the robot

1980-1989

While Erno Rubik's "Magic Cube" rose to cult status, JUMO continued to develop its range of services and, for the first time, offered these for metal processing and electronic modules to external customers as well. The field of liquid analysis was also expanded.

In 1985 Germany cheered for the 17-year-old tennis phenomenon Boris Becker. In the same year Peter Juchheim, eldest son of company founder Moritz and Managing Manager alongside his father since 1965, died in 1985. His younger brother and current Managing Director Dipl.-Ing. Bernhard Juchheim took his place. In 1989 when the Berlin Wall fell, JUMO achieved a breakthrough: robots were used for the first time in temperature probing.

Global growth due to high-tech

1990-1999

The federal government moved from Bonn to the old and new capital Berlin. JUMO's development department relocated to a new building. Over the years, this department has produced high-tech devices, process control systems, smart transmitters, bus technology, and state-of-the-art visualization software. As a result, the JUMO mTRON automation system was launched on the market in 1997.

After the founding of the JUMO training center in 1995, the Juchheim family suffered another loss: in 1996, company founder Moritz Juchheim passed away.

Automation systems, new target groups, and new markets

2000-2009

The new millennium did not begin with a crash, but rather with a record for JUMO: the company achieved sales of over 100 million euro for the first time. In 2002, when the European currency was also introduced as cash, JUMO inaugurated the new sales and production building for the temperature sensor technology product line in the Eisweiher industrial park. The building had a total area of 4,680 m².

In 2003, the brand name JUMO became the company name and Michael Juchheim became Managing Director alongside his father Bernhard. JUMO grew on the Asian and Eastern European markets. It could tap new target groups with complete automation systems.

Plastics and excellent growth

2010-2019

As the decade was drawing to a close JUMO employed more than 2,000 people worldwide and continued to focus on expansion. The certification of the DKD laboratory by the Deutsche Akkreditierungsstelle GmbH (DAkkS) opened the door to new services. The new incoming goods logistics center opened in 2012 and a 100,000 m² site was acquired in 2013 for a new sensor manufacturing plant.

In 2016, JUMO made its only acquisition of an external company to date by taking over PGT Thermprozesstechnik GmbH. The company specialized in the production of innovative plastic temperature probes and had been a JUMO system partner for many years beforehand. JUMO received several awards for above-average growth and for being an exemplary employer.

Warnung

Warnung

Ungültige Konfiguration gefunden. Wenden Sie sich an Ihren Administrator.

 
Historie

Reisen Sie mit uns durch 70 Jahre JUMO-Geschichte

Moritz Kurt Juchheim gründet in Fulda unter dem Namen M. K. JUCHHEIM die heutige JUMO GmbH & Co. KG und beginnt mit 6 Mitarbeitern auf einer Produktionsfläche von 350 m² mit der Herstellung von Glas- und Glaskontaktthermometern. Er wurde am 4. Juli 1910 in Ilmenau, Thüringen geboren, wo sein Vater bereits Thermometer herstellte. Moritz Kurt Juchheim setzte von Anfang an auf qualitativ besonders hochwertige Instrumente und einen bestmöglichen Kundenservice. Der Name JUMO leitet sich aus den Initialen des Firmengründers ab. Kommen Sie mit uns mit uns auf eine Zeitreise durch die bewegende Geschichte unseres Unternehmens.

Vom Glasthermometer bis zum Sensor – von Fulda nach Europa

1949-1979

Noch vor der Gründung zweier deutschen Staaten entsteht die Thermometerfabrik "M.K. Juchheim" in Fulda und stellt bereits auf der Hannover Messe 1949 aus. Konrad Adenauer wird Bundeskanzler und in den Wirtschaftswunderjahren floriert auch das Fuldaer Unternehmen. Es wächst bis 1952 von 6 auf 100 Mitarbeiter an und bis 1970 verzehnfacht sich diese Zahl sogar. Auch die Produktionsfläche ist von 350 auf 12.000 m² angewachsen.

1966 startet die Fertigung von Platin-Glas-Sensoren, auch Mess- und Regelgeräte auf elektronischer Basis kommen ins Programm. Während die Welt die Trennung der Beatles bedauert, gründet Moritz Juchheim 1971 die erste Tochtergesellschaft in Belgien, mit der die Internationalsierung beginnt. Es geht auch technisch voran: 1978 setzt JUMO als erstes Unternehmen Prozessoren in der Regeltechnik ein.

Neue Entwicklungen bis hin zum Roboter

1980-1989

Während Erno Rubiks "Zauberwürfel" zum Kult wird, entwickelt JUMO seinen Dienstleistungsbereich weiter und bietet diese für Metallverarbeitung und elektronische Baugruppen erstmals auch für externe Kunden an. Auch der Bereich Flüssigkeitsanalyse wird erweitert.

Und als Deutschland das 17-jährige Tennistalent Boris Becker bejubelt, verstirbt 1985 Peter Juchheim, ältester Sohn von Firmengründer Moritz und seit 1965 neben ihm Geschäftsführer. Sein jüngerer Bruder und heutiger Geschäftsführer Dipl.-Ing. Bernhard Juchheim tritt an seine Stelle. Im Jahr des Mauerfalls 1989 gelingt auch JUMO ein Durchbruch: Erstmalig werden Roboter in der Temperaturfühlung eingesetzt.

Weltweites Wachstum dank High-Tech

1990-1999

Die Bundesregierung zieht von Bonn in die alte und zugleich neue Hauptstadt Berlin und die Entwicklungsabteilung von JUMO in einen Neubau um. Diese bringt im Laufe der Jahre High-Tech-Geräte, Prozessregelsysteme Smart-Transmitter, Bus-Technologie und modernste Visualisierungssoftware hervor. So kommt 1997 das Automatisierungssystem JUMO mTRON auf den Markt. 

Nach der Gründung des JUMO-Schulungszentrums 1995 muss die Familie Juchheim einen weiteren Verlust hinnehmen: 1996 verstirbt Firmengründer Moritz Juchheim.

Automatisierungssysteme, neue Zielgruppen und neue Märkte

2000-2009

Das neue Millenium beginnt nicht mit einem Crash, sondern für JUMO mit einem Rekord: Das Unternehmen erzielt erstmals einen Umsatz über 100 Millionen Euro. Als die europäische Währung 2002 auch als Bargeld eingeführt wird, weiht JUMO das neue Vertriebs- und Fertigungsgebäudes der Produktlinie Temperatursensortechnik mit einer Gesamtfläche von 4.680 m² im Industriegebiet Eisweiher ein.

2003 wird der Markenname JUMO zum Firmennamen und Dipl.-Kfm. Michael Juchheim Geschäftsführer an der Seite seines Vaters Bernhard. JUMO wächst auf den asiatischen und osteuropäischen Märkten und kann mit kompletten Automatisierungssystemen neue Zielgruppen erschließen.


Kunststoff und ausgezeichnetes Wachstum

2010-2019

In der sich nun dem Ende neigenden Dekade beschäftigt JUMO nun mehr über 2.000 Mitarbeiter weltweit und setzt weiter auf Expansion. Die Zertifizierung des DKD-Labors durch die Deutsche Akkreditierungsstelle GmbH (DAkkS) eröffnet das Angebot neuer Dienstleistungen. Das neue Wareneingangs-Logistikzentrum wird 2012 eröffnet und 2013 ein Grundstück von 100.000 m² für ein neues Werk für die Sensorfertigung erworben.

2016 tätigt JUMO seinen bisher einzigen Zukauf und übernimmt die PGT Thermprozesstechnik GmbH. Das Unternehmen ist auf die Produktion von innovativen Kunststoff-Temperaturfühlern spezialisiert und ein langjähriger Systempartner von JUMO. Für das überdurchschnittliche Wachstum und als vorbildlicher Arbeitgeber wird JUMO mehrfach ausgezeichnet.