Expertise and strengths

From the glass thermometer to Industry 4.0

In its early days JUMO concentrated on temperature measurement technology. Today, the Fulda-based family business is the world market leader in the field of industrial temperature probes for heat meters as well as a high-tech supplier of innovative products in the field of measurement, control, and automation technology. From the very beginning, JUMO has always been in motion and has always been committed to innovation without neglecting the tradition that forms the basis of its 70-year success story. These roots have a decisive influence on the corporate culture.


Concepts such as duty and diligence as well as credibility and trust are not empty phrases – we live up to these values. Customers all over the globe rely on the quality and reliability that JUMO and its products provide.

Conversation situation

The Production division and Sales department work hand in hand for your success.

Hands with JUMO screw-in resistance thermometers

The result of the joint efforts is the best solution for a measurement and control task.

Complete measuring chain from a single source – made to measure

The high quality of the products comes from a high production depth. Almost all required product components are manufactured inhouse. At the same time, JUMO achieves a very high degree of flexibility for customer wishes. These are individually addressed if no suitable solution is found in the broad product range. The close exchange with customers means that the portfolio is constantly being expanded with additional solutions for a wide variety of industries. This does not only apply to individual devices within a plant. JUMO's evolvement from a component supplier to a system provider allows it to provide your complete measuring chain from a single source.

A high degree of flexibility also requires a high degree of innovative strength, which is reflected in the fact that 8 % of JUMO employees are involved in development. The export rate of 54 % proves that measurement, control, and automation technology from Fulda is popular worldwide.

There's no such thing as "sold and forgotten" at JUMO. We support our customers throughout the entire product life cycle.

Support over the entire product life cycle

JUMO is "more than sensors+automation". This "more" is reflected in both the breadth and flexibility of the product range as well as in the individual support that is provided for customers in their applications. Contrary to the widespread motto "sell and forget", JUMO accompanies its customers from development to downstream services over the entire product life cycle. In addition, JUMO works in close and long-term partnerships with its customers on specific solutions.

JUMO focuses on trust, reliability, sustainability, loyalty, and respect in its interactions with customers, suppliers, and employees. This is the basis for long-term, solid growth that far exceeds short-term sales and earnings targets. That is the reason why JUMO does not follow every trend but instead makes decisions on future opportunities based on a careful analysis and evaluation. The focus on the high-tech sector as well as future industries such as energy, environment, and automation is the result from such decisions.

A solid apprenticeship qualifies young employees to continue developing technological innovations in the future.

An apprenticeship as the foundation of success

Quality and reliability as well as flexibility and development demand a great deal of expertise. JUMO secures and expands both through a high level of employee loyalty and an excellent apprenticeship. With 1300 employees at the Fulda region, the company is one of the largest employers in the region. We are proud of long periods of employment and an apprenticeship quota of 7.7 % which is well above the industry average of 5 %.

In addition, JUMO has maintained close cooperation with the University of Applied Sciences in Fulda for decades and has contributed to the establishment of the Department of Electrical Engineering. JUMO also regularly offer internships as well as the option to write a thesis for a Bachelor's or Master's degree, which often leads to permanent employment. This creates new opportunities for professionals, for the region, and for one's own innovative capacity.

Development continues

JUMO is deeply rooted in the region with its research and development location in Fulda and is at home all over the world with a total of 2350 employees. The wide product range provides a high degree of protection against industry crises. The result is a sense of security and potential for further development. It is based on organic growth, which has proven its worth in the family business. After JUMO had increased its workforce tenfold from 1952 to 1970 (from 100 to 1000) the first subsidiary was founded in Belgium in 1971. After that JUMO also expanded without acquisitions.


JUMO is experiencing healthy growth without acquisitions, especially in growth markets such as India and South America.

Further internationalization is directed towards the markets in India and South America, where JUMO sees great potential. The international production network with the established manufacturing centers in Romania and China will also be expanded further. The Fulda region is becoming a high-tech and development center which concentrates on new industries such as the processing of Water and wastewater.

Kompetenzen und Stärken

Vom Glasthermometer zur Industrie 4.0

Bei seiner Gründung konzentrierte sich JUMO auf Temperaturmesstechnik. Heute ist das Fuldaer Familienunternehmen Weltmarktführer im Bereich der industriellen Temperaturfühler für Wärmemengenzähler sowie High-Tech-Anbieter von innovativen Produkten im Bereich der Mess-, Regel und Automatisierungstechnik. Von Beginn an war JUMO immer in Bewegung und setzt seit je her auf Innovation, ohne die Tradition zu vernachlässigen, welche die Grundlage der 70-jährigen Erfolgsgeschichte bildet. Diese Wurzeln prägen auch die Unternehmenskultur maßgeblich.


Begriffe wie Pflichtgefühl und Fleiß, Glaubwürdigkeit und Vertrauen sind keine leeren Floskeln, sie werden gelebt. Kunden verlassen sich weltweit auf die Qualität und Zuverlässigkeit von JUMO und seinen Produkten.

Gesprächssituation

Produktion und Vertrieb arbeiten Hand in Hand für Ihren Erfolg.

Hände mit JUMO Einschraub-Widerstandsthermometer

Ergebnis der gemeinsamen Anstrengungen ist die beste Lösung für eine Mess- und Regelaufgabe.

Komplette Messkette aus einer Hand – und das nach Maß

Die hohe Qualität der Produkte ist auf eine hohe Fertigungstiefe zurückzuführen. Nahezu alle benötigten Produktbestandteile werden Inhouse gefertigt. Dadurch erreicht JUMO zugleich eine sehr hohe Flexibilität für Kundenwünsche, auf die individuell eingegangen wird, sollte sich in dem breiten Produktspektrum keine passende Lösung finden. Durch den engen Austausch mit den Kunden wird das Portfolio ständig durch weitere Lösungen für unterschiedlichste Branchen erweitert. Dies bezieht sich nicht nur auf einzelne Geräte innerhalb einer Anlage. Dank der Entwicklung vom Komponenten- zum Systemanbieter erhalten Sie bei JUMO Ihre komplette Messkette aus einer Hand.

Hohe Flexibilität setzt auch eine hohe Innovationskraft voraus, was sich unter anderem darin zeigt, dass 8 % der Mitarbeiter von JUMO in der Entwicklung tätig sind. Die Exportquote von 54 % belegt: Mess-, Regel- und Automatisierungstechnik aus Fulda ist weltweit beliebt.


"Verkauft und vergessen" gibt es bei JUMO nicht. Wir unterstützen unsere Kunden über den gesamten Produktlebenszyklus.

Unterstützung über den gesamten Produktlebenszyklus

JUMO ist „more than sensors+automation“. Dieses „Mehr“ zeigt sich sowohl in der Breite und Flexibilität der Produktpalette als auch durch die individuelle Unterstützung der Kunden in ihren Anwendungen. Im Gegensatz zum leider weitverbreiteten Motto „verkauft und vergessen“ begleitet JUMO seine Kunden von der Entwicklung bis zu nachgelagerten Dienstleitungen über den gesamten Produktlebenszyklus und arbeitet in engen und langjährigen Partnerschaften mit ihren Kunden an spezifischen Lösungen.

JUMO setzt auf Vertrauen, Zuverlässigkeit, Nachhaltigkeit, Loyalität und Respekt, das gilt für Kunden genauso wie für Lieferanten und Mitarbeiter. Dies ist die Grundlage für langfristiges, solides Wachstum, das weit über kurzfristigen Umsatz- und Ertragszielen steht. Deshalb läuft JUMO auch nicht jedem Trend hinterher, sondern entscheidet auf Basis einer sorgfältigen Analyse und Bewertung über Zukunftschancen. Die Konzentration auf den High-Tech-Sektor sowie Zukunftsbranchen wie Energie, Umwelt und Automatisierung resultiert aus solchen Entscheidungen.

Durch eine konsequent gute Ausbildung werden junge Mitarbeiter befähigt, auch in Zukunft technologische Innovationen zu entwickeln.

Ausbildung als Grundstein für Erfolg

Qualität und Zuverlässigkeit, Flexibilität und Entwicklung verlangen viel Know-How, das JUMO sowohl durch eine hohe Mitarbeiterbindung als auch eine hervorragende Ausbildung sichert und ausbaut. Das Unternehmen ist mit 1300 Mitarbeitern am Standort Fulda einer der größten Arbeitgeber der Region und erfreut sich langer Betriebszugehörigkeit sowie einer Ausbildungsquote von 7,7 %, die deutlich über dem Branchenschnitt von 5 % liegt.

Zudem pflegt JUMO seit Jahrzehnten eine enge Kooperation mit der Hochschule Fulda und hat zur Einrichtung des Fachbereichs Elektrotechnik beigetragen. Darüber hinaus werden regelmäßig Praktikumsplätze sowie Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten vergeben, die oft zu einer Festanstellung führen. So werden neue Perspektiven für Fachkräfte, für die Region und für die eigene Innovationsfähigkeit geschaffen.

Die Entwicklung geht weiter

Mit seinem Forschungs- und Entwicklungsstandort Fulda ist JUMO ist in der Region verwurzelt und mit insgesamt 2350 Mitarbeitern in der ganzen Welt zuhause. Dank des breiten Produktspektrums ist JUMO kaum anfällig für Branchenkrisen. Das schafft Sicherheit und Potential zur Weiterentwicklung. Diese setzt auf organisches Wachstum, wie es sich in dem Familienunternehmen bewährt hat. Nachdem JUMO von 1952 bis 1970 seine Mitarbeiterzahl verzehnfacht hatte (von 100 auf 1000) wurde 1971 die erste Tochtergesellschaft Belgien gegründet. Auch danach wuchs JUMO ohne Zukäufe.


JUMO wächst gesund ohne Zukäufe, vor allem in Wachstumsmärkten wie Indien und Südamerika.

Die weitere Internationalisierung richtet sich auf die Märkte in Indien und Südamerika, wo JUMO großes Potential sieht. Und auch das internationale Produktionsnetzwerk mit den etablierten Fertigungszentren in Rumänien und China wird weiter ausgebaut. Aber auch in der Fuldaer Heimat bewegt sich viel: Der Standort Fulda wird zum Hightech- und Entwicklungszentrum und konzentriert sich auf neue Branchen, wie z. B. die Aufbereitung von Wasser und Abwasser.