Success Story: Drinking Water Treatment

Working together for sustainable water management

Due to climatic changes and the steadily growing world population, drinking water is becoming an increasingly scarce commodity. This is especially true in populous countries such as India, where more than 500 million people have no, or only difficult, access to drinking water. To remedy this situation and provide a nationwide water supply, the Indian government is taking a forward-looking approach. Together with the Baden-Württemberg State Agency for Environmental Technology and Resource Efficiency as well as the Fraunhofer Institute for Interfacial Engineering and Biotechnology IGB, methods for effective drinking water use are being tested in around 100 so-called "smart cities". One of these is the city of Solapur in the western Indian state of Maharashtra.

Task

The water needs of the megacity are mainly met by the Ujani Dam, which is more than 100 kilometers away, but the water quality is severely affected by discharges from nearby settlements. To obtain detailed information about the raw water quality in the waterworks and to derive targeted measures for improving the drinking water supply, the quality of the water needs to be continuously monitored via an online water monitoring system.

water extraction from the reservoir

Solution approach

The JUMO Engineering department in Fulda was responsible for the technical realization of these requirements while construction management in Solapur was handled by JUMO's Indian subsidiary. In addition to digital sensors from the digiLine family, the new JUMO variTRON 300 automation system was also used. Process visualization as well as the acquisition, evaluation, and archiving of all relevant data was carried out via the innovative JUMO Cloud.

By setting up an intelligent JUMO digiLine sensor network, parameters such as flow, conductivity, acidity, and turbidity can be measured with a single system, which makes wiring the individual measuring points much faster and more efficient. All that is required is a single digital signal line to the JUMO variTRON 300 for further processing. At the heart of the clever automation system is a powerful CPU with an 800 MHz single-core processor as well as a customized configuration and process data editor.

The data is collected in the JUMO Cloud, which enables worldwide access to the measurement data via all common browsers and is characterized by a high level of security as well as valuable visualization, alarm, and planning functions. Detailed data evaluation with subsequent recommended actions is carried out on a quarterly basis by the Fraunhofer IGB.

The realized showcase project in Solapur

The realized showcase project in Solapur

Digital water monitoring

Digital water monitoring

Project outcome

JUMO's expertise and solutions make an important contribution to resource-saving water management. For example, JUMO trains local operators on how to independently monitor and optimize water values. The Water Innovation Center in Solapur shows the importance of cooperation between individual industries for solving global environmental problems. Without the network of the German Water Partnership e. V., which brings together around 350 specialist companies, universities, and research institutes from the water and wastewater sector, such effective cooperation on sustainable water management would not have been possible. Consequently, the project also serves as a model for other cities and regions.

Erfolgsgeschichte Trinkwasseraufbereitung

Gemeinsam zu nachhaltigem Wassermanagement

Durch klimatische Veränderungen und die stetig wachsende Weltbevölkerung wird Trinkwasser ein immer knapperes Gut. Dies gilt besonders für bevölkerungsreiche Länder wie Indien, in denen über 500 Millionen Menschen keinen, oder nur einen erschwerten Zugang zum Trinkwasser besitzen. Um diesen Missstand zu beheben und eine flächendeckende Wasserversorgung zu ermöglichen, geht die indische Regierung zukunftsweisende Wege. Gemeinsam mit der Landesagentur für Umwelttechnik und Ressourceneffizienz Baden-Württemberg und dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Grenzflächen und Bioverfahrenstechnik IGB werden in rund 100 sogenannten „Smart Cities“ Methoden zur effektiven Trinkwassernutzung erprobt. Eine davon ist die Stadt Solapur im westindischen Bundesstaat Maharashtra.

Aufgabenstellung

Der Wasserbedarf der Millionenstadt wird hauptsächlich durch den über 100 Kilometer entfernten Ujani-Stausee gedeckt, die Wasserqualität wird allerdings durch die Einleitungen nahegelegener Siedlungen stark beeinträchtigt. Um detaillierte Informationen über die Rohwasserqualität in den Wasserwerken zu erhalten und gezielte Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Trinkwasserversorgung abzuleiten, soll die Beschaffenheit des Wassers über ein Online-Wasserüberwachungssystem kontinuierlich überprüft werden.

Wassergewinnung aus dem Stausee

Lösungsansatz

Verantwortlich für die technische Realisierung dieser Anforderungen war die JUMO-Engineering-Abteilung in Fulda; die Bauleitung in Solapur wurde über die indische Tochtergesellschaft von JUMO abgewickelt. Zum Einsatz kam neben digitalen Sensoren der digiLine-Familie auch das neue Automatisierungssystem JUMO variTron300. Die Prozessvisualisierung sowie die Erfassung, Auswertung und Archivierung aller relevanten Daten erfolgte über die innovative JUMO Cloud.

Durch den Aufbau eines intelligenten JUMO digiLine-Sensornetzwerkes können Parameter wie Durchfluss, Leitfähigkeit, Säuregehalt und Trübung mit einem einzigen System gemessen werden, was die Verkabelung der einzelnen Messstellen deutlich schneller und effizienter gestaltet. Erforderlich ist lediglich eine einzige digitale Signalleitung zum weiterverarbeitenden JUMO variTRON 300. Herzstücke des cleveren Automatisierungssystems sind eine leistungsstarke CPU mit einem 800 MHz Single-Core-Prozessor und ein kundenspezifischer Konfigurations- und Prozess-Dateneditor.

Gesammelt werden die Daten in der JUMO Cloud, die über alle gängigen Browser einen weltweiten Zugriff auf die Messdaten ermöglicht und sich durch eine hohe Sicherheit sowie wertvolle Visualisierungs-, Alarm- und Planungsfunktionen auszeichnet. Die detaillierte Datenauswertung mit anschließenden Handlungsempfehlungen erfolgt vierteljährlich über das Fraunhofer IGB.

Das realisierte Showcase-Projekt in Solapur

Das realisierte Showcase-Projekt in Solapur

Digitale Wasserüberwachung

Digitale Wasserüberwachung

Projektergebnis

JUMO leistet mit seiner Expertise und seinen Lösungen einen wichtigen Beitrag zu einem ressourcenschonenden Wassermanagement und schult die örtlichen Betreiber hinsichtlich eigenständiger Überwachung und Optimierung der Wasserwerte. Das Innovationszentrum Wasser in Solapur zeigt, wie wichtig die Zusammenarbeit einzelner Branchen zur Lösung globaler Umweltprobleme ist. Ohne das Netzwerk des German Water Partnership e. V., in dem sich rund 350 Fachfirmen, Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen aus dem Bereich Wasser und Abwasser zusammengeschlossen haben, wäre eine derart effektive Zusammenarbeit in Sachen nachhaltiger Wasserwirtschaft nicht möglich gewesen. Das Projekt besitzt daher auch für andere Städte und Regionen Modellcharakter.