Case Study - silo temperature monitoring

Reliable storage of grain

Over 45 million metric tons of grain are harvested annually in Germany. In addition to water content, temperature is one of the most important measurands used to ensure quality during storage. The top-selling grain is wheat, which makes up nearly half of the overall harvested amount. A significant portion of grain is stored until it is further processed. Even in June – which is shortly before the harvest – up to 8 million metric tons of grain are still available in silos and similar storage facilities.

Task

Numerous parameters must be considered when storing grain. These include drying and ventilation until the grain can be stored as well as the prevention of mycotoxin formation from mold. The increase in temperature after reaching the storage temperature is an important signal. It is a sign for the occurrence of grain weevils.

An elevated temperature is also an indication of excessive moisture or water content in the grain. In this case germination starts and the temperature rises. Moisture in the silo also increases the incidence of pests and moulds. Unlike other types of grain, the germination capacity and germination energy of malting barley is crucial for further parts of the process. This means that malting barley requires sufficient ventilation. Temperature monitoring therefore also plays an important role for this type of storage.

Risk of explosion

Temperature monitoring therefore plays an important role in this type of storage. ATEX approval is required for the temperature sensors used. Due to the dusts present in grain silos, they are considered potentially explosive areas.

Dust inevitably accumulates during the treatment and processing – in the form of particle adhesion, grain abrasion, and ultimately as finely ground grain flour. When stirred up, this dust can create a potentially explosive atmosphere which must not be ignited under any circumstances. Therefore, in addition to the actual production equipment, all applied measuring  devices also need to be constructed according to the ATEX directive. In most cases, the silo's headspace is classified as zone 20 – a place in which a potentially explosive atmosphere in the form of a cloud of combustible dust in the air is continuously present for long periods.


High temperatures and increased water content lead to massive respiratory and quality losses.

Solution approach

Using temperature monitoring as well as the visualization and archiving of data, a storing process that preserves quality and that protects the product can be documented. To this end, JUMO has an ATEX-approved special multipoint temperature probe in its product range that can be used to acquire temperatures at various heights in a grain silo. This probe was developed and produced by JUMO's French subsidiary in Metz.

The JUMO silo probe can be fastened either to a metal construct or a concrete panel. The aluminum or stainless steel connection housing with protection type IP6X facilitates measurement exchange when the silo is full. In the probe, Pt100 or Pt1000 sensors guarantee a high degree of accuracy and measurement repeatability according to DIN EN 60751. The various measuring points can be distributed evenly over a total length of up to 50 m in the probe tube.

JUMO also provides suitable technology for acquiring and evaluating the data. This ranges from various two-wire transmitters, to paperless recorders like the new JUMO LOGOSCREEN 700. It can switch alarms or other systems thanks to math and logic functions. Mobile access to the recorded data is also possible at any time via smartphone using the JUMO Device App. Configuration data can be transferred via USB flash drive so that use of a laptop for the obligatory programming is obsolete. For more extensive systems, the JUMO mTRON T measurement, control and automation system can be used as it features a recording function as well.


Silos of a grain mill

Grain silos

JUMO silo temperature probe

JUMO silo temperature probe with a maximum length of 50 m

Project outcome

The complete temperature measurement ensures safety in the grain silo. The temperature can be used to monitor drying and aeration until storage life is reached and to prevent pest infestation and mycotoxin formation through mould. For this purpose, a temperature sensor with a maximum length of 50 m and a transmitter – both with ATEX approval – are used because of the potentially explosive atmosphere. A paperless recorder or the measurement, control and automation system sends alarms and controls drying and ventilation. Mobile access to the recorded data is possible at any time via smartphone.

Erfolgsgeschichte Silotemperaturmessung

Sichere Lagerung von Getreide

In Deutschland werden jährlich über 45 Millionen Tonnen Getreide geerntet. Neben dem Wassergehalt gehört bei der Lagerung die Temperatur zu den wichtigsten Messgrößen, um die Qualität sicherzustellen. Getreide-Spitzenreiter ist Weizen, der fast die Hälfte der geernteten Gesamtmenge ausmacht. Ein großer Teil des Getreides wird bis zur weiteren Verarbeitung eingelagert. Selbst im Juni – also kurz vor der Ernte – sind noch bis zu acht Millionen Tonnen Getreide in Silos und ähnlichen Lagerstätten verfügbar.

Aufgabenstellung

Bei der Einlagerung von Getreide müssen zahlreiche Parameter beachtet werden. Dazu gehören die Trocknung und Belüftung bis zur Lagerfähigkeit und das Verhindern von Mycotoxinbildung durch Schimmelbefall. Der Anstieg der Temperatur nach dem Erreichen der Lagertemperatur ist ein wichtiges Signal. Es ist Zeichen für das Auftreten von Kornkäfern.

Eine erhöhte Temperatur ist auch ein Indiz für zu hohe Feuchtigkeit oder einen zu hohen Wassergehalt des Korns. In diesem Fall setzt die Keimung ein und die Temperatur steigt an. Feuchtigkeit im Silo zu begünstigt zudem den Befall mit Schädlingen und Schimmelpilzen. Bei Braugerste ist die Keimfähigkeit und Keimenergie, anders als bei anderen Getreidesorten, entscheidend für den weiteren Prozess. Somit muss die Braugerste ausreichend belüftet werden.

Explosionsgefahr

So spielt die Temperaturüberwachung bei dieser Lagerung eine wichtige Rolle. Dabei ist eine ATEX-Zulassung für die verwendeten Temperaturfühler notwendig. Durch die in Getreidesilos vorhandenen Stäube zählen sie zu den explosionsgefährdeten Bereichen.

Im Rahmen der Be- und Verarbeitungsprozesse fällt unweigerlich Staub an, als Anhaftung von Partikeln, als Abrieb der Körner und schließlich als fein gemahlenes Getreidemehl. Dieser Staub kann – aufgewirbelt in der Luft – eine explosionsfähige Atmosphäre bilden, die sich auf keinen Fall entzünden darf. Daher müssen neben den eigentlichen Produktionsanlagen auch sämtliche eingesetzte Messgeräte entsprechend den ATEX-Richtlinien konstruiert und zugelassen sein. Der Kopfraum von Silos wird in den meisten Fällen als Zone 20 eingestuft, in der damit zu rechnen ist, dass eine explosionsfähige Atmosphäre in Form einer Wolke aus brennbarem Staub in der Luft bei Normalbetrieb ständig und über einen längeren Zeitraum auftritt.


Hohe Temperaturen und ein erhöhter Wassergehalt führen zu massiven Atmungs- und Qualitätsverlusten.

Lösungsansatz

Mithilfe der Temperaturüberwachung sowie der Visualisierung und Archivierung der Daten lässt sich eine werterhaltende und produktschonende Lagerung dokumentieren. JUMO hat hierfür einen speziellen Mehrpunkttemperaturfühler mit ATEX-Zulassung im Programm, mit dem die Temperaturen in verschiedenen Höhen in einem Getreidesilo erfasst werden können. Dieser Fühler wurde in der französischen JUMO-Tochtergesellschaft in Metz entwickelt und wird dort auch produziert.

Der JUMO-Silofühler kann wahlweise an einer metallischen Konstruktion oder einer Betonplatte befestigt werden. Die Anschlussgehäuse aus Aluminium oder Edelstahl mit Schutzart IP6X ermöglichen den Messeinsatzaustausch bei einem gefüllten Silo. Im Fühler garantieren Pt100-beziehungsweise Pt1000-Sensoren nach DIN EN 60751 hohe Genauigkeit und Messwiederholbarkeit. Die verschiedenen Messstellen können gleichmäßig auf einer Gesamtlänge von bis zu 50 Metern im Fühlerrohr verteilt werden.

Auch zur Erfassung und Auswertung der Daten stellt JUMO die geeignete Technik zur Verfügung. Diese beginnt mit Messumformern für Ex-Anwendungen und führt zum Bildschirmschreiber, wie dem JUMO LOGOSCREEN 700. Dieser kann dank Mathematik- und Logikfunktionen auch Alarme oder andere Systeme schalten kann. Der mobile Zugriff auf die erfassten Daten ist mithilfe der JUMO Device App jederzeit auch per Smartphone möglich. Konfigurationsdaten können per USB-Speicherstick übertragen werden und so ist die obligatorische Programmierung mittels Notebook nicht mehr nötig. Für umfangreicherere Anlagen kann auch das Mess-, Regel- und Automatisierungssystem JUMO mTRON T eingesetzt werden, das ebenfalls über eine Registrierfunktion verfügt.


Silos einer Gertreidemühle

Getreidesilos

JUMO Silotemperaturfühler

JUMO Silotemperaturfühler mit einer maximalen Länge von 50 m

Projektergebnis

Die lückenlose Temperaturmessung sorgt für Sicherheit im Getreidesilo. Über die Termperatur können Trocknung und Belüftung bis zur Lagerfähigkeit überwacht sowie Schädlingsbefall und Mycotoxinbildung durch Schimmel verhindert werden. Dafür kommen in der explosionsgefährdeten Atmosphäre ein 50 m langer Temperaturfühler und ein Messumformer mit ATEX-Zulassung zum Einsatz. Ein Bildschirmschreiber oder das Mess-, Regel und Automatisierungssystem sendet Alarme und steuert Trocknung und Belüftung. Der mobile Zugriff auf die erfassten Daten ist jederzeit auch per Smartphone möglich.