Warning

Warning

Invalid configuration found. Contact the administrator.

 
Case Study - Green house

Fresh water for tulip bulbs

Company KaRo, based in Zwaagdijk in the Netherlands, supplies modern electrical and water technology for both the greenhouse horticulture and outdoor cultivation sectors such as fruit and plant-growing farms. The company from northern Holland was tasked by the flower bulb garden center Karel to find a solution for regulating fertilizers and for disinfecting process water. After all, tulip bulbs are grown in water which needs to be refreshed on a regular basis.

Task

For flower bulbs to thrive the water needs to meet specific conditions. To ensure that this is the case, the correct measurement and inspection of various parameters is essential. For example, the conductivity and pH value must be regulated accurately for the right fertilization. In addition, a directive for the disinfection of process water has been established for horticultural producers. The aim of the directives for the discharge of process water is to prevent emissions from entering surface water, sewers, and groundwater as well as to avoid contamination. That is why it is imperative that they are observed.

Other requirements included monitoring the fill level of the buffer tanks and digitally connecting the measurement and control technology as both the garden center and KaRo wanted to monitor the process sequence remotely.

Irrigation system in greenhouse for tulip bulbs

Irrigation system in greenhouse for tulip bulbs

Tulip bulbs in greenhouse

Tulip bulbs need clean water and precisely dosed fertiliser

Solution approach

With its numerous inputs, control functions, and digital interfaces the JUMO AQUIS touch S multichannel measuring device is the best solution for the application. JUMO also supplied the various electrodes for measuring the redox and pH values, chlorine, and conductivity. In addition, JUMO provided a fill level sensor for monitoring the buffer storage.

Together with the tulip grower the relevant values were ascertained on site and processed in the JUMO AQUIS touch S. The relevant measurands are measured by the connected sensors in the process water. The disinfectant and fertilizer are regulated and dosed in the right quantities by the JUMO AQUIS touch S. The fill level in the buffer storage which needs to be refreshed is also monitored.

Desinfection unit by KaRo in the Karel gardening center © KaRo B.V.

JUMO AQUIS tocuch S controls the desinfection in the gardening center © KaRo B.V.

Buffer storage and control technology in the gardenig center Karel © KaRo B.V.

Buffer storage controlled by JUMO AQUIS touch S © KaRo B.V.

Project outcome

With the JUMO AQUIS touch S, the flower bulb garden center has a central platform for displaying and regulating the water quality. The device comes with a large 5.5 inch color display which helps to provide a clear overview of the entire water treatment process in the flower bulb garden. The remote connection to the JUMO AQUIS touch S was established by connecting it to an IXON router. This way, the process water can be checked via PC, tablet, or smartphone from anywhere and at any time.

Case Study - Gewächshaus

Frisches Wasser für Tulpenzwiebeln

Die Firma KaRo aus dem niederländischen Zwaagdijk liefert moderne Elektro- und Wasser­technik sowohl für den Gewächs­haus­garten­bau als auch für Freiland­kulturen, wie Obst- und Pflanzenbau­betriebe. Von der Blumen­zwiebelgärtnerei Karel Bolbloemen B.V. wurde das nord­holländische Unternehmen beauftragt, eine Lösung für die Regulierung der Dünge­mittel und die Desinfektion des Prozess­wassers zu liefern. Schließlich befinden sich Tulpen­zwiebeln während ihres Wachstums im Wasser, das regelmäßig erneuert werden muss.

Aufgabenstellung

Für das gute Gedeihen von Blumenzwiebeln müssen im Wasser ganz bestimmte Bedingungen herrschen. Um diese zu gewährleisten, sind die korrekte Messung und Kontrolle verschiedener Parameter unerlässlich. Zum Beispiel ist es für die richtige Düngung essentiell, Leitfähigkeit und pH-Wert genau zu steuern. Außerdem wurde für Erzeuger im Gartenbau eine Richtlinie zur Desinfektion von Prozesswasser festgelegt. Richtlinien für die Einleitung von Prozesswasser haben das Ziel, Emissionen in Oberflächengewässern, Abwasserkanälen und im Grundwasser zu vermeiden und eine Kontamination zu verhindern. Sie sind deshalb unbedingt einzuhalten.

Weitere Anforderungen waren die Füllstandüberwachung der Puffertanks sowie die digitale Anbindung der Mess- und Regeltechnik. Denn sowohl die Gärtnerei als auch KaRo wünschten einen Remote-Einblick in den Prozessablauf.

Bewässerungsanlage im Gewächshaus für Tulpenzwiebeln

Bewässerungsanlage im Gewächshaus für Tulpenzwiebeln

Tulpenzwiebeln im Gewächshaus

Tulpenzwiebeln brauchen sauberes Wasser und präzise dosierte Düngung

Lösungsansatz

Das Mehrkanalmessgerät JUMO AQUIS touch S stellt mit seinen zahlreichen Eingängen, Steuerfunktionen und digitalen Schnittstellen die optimale Lösung für die Anwendung ist. Zur Messung von Redox- und pH-Wert, Chlor und Leitfähigkeit lieferte JUMO die verschiedenen Elektroden sowie einen Füllstandsensor für die Überwachung des Pufferspeichers.

Gemeinsam mit dem Züchter wurden vor Ort die relevanten Werte ermittelt und im JUMO AQUIS touch S verarbeitet. Die angeschlossenen Sensoren messen die jeweiligen Größen im Prozesswasser und der JUMO AQUIS touch S regelt vollautomatisch die richtige Dosierung von Desinfektion und Düngung. Zusätzlich wird der Füllstand im Pufferspeicher überwacht.

Desinfektionsanlage von KaRo in der Gärtnerei Karel © KaRo B.V.

JUMO AQUIS tocuch S steuert die Desinfektion in der Gärtnerei © KaRo B.V.

Puffertanks mit Steuerungstechnik in der Blumengärtnerei Karel © KaRo B.V.

Puffertanks mit der Steuerung durch den JUMO AQUIS touch S © KaRo B.V.

Projektergebnis

Mit dem JUMO AQUIS touch S verfügt die Blumenzwiebelgärtnerei Karel über eine zentrale Plattform zur Anzeige und Steuerung der Wasserqualität. Über das große 5,5-Zoll-Farbdisplay bietet er eine übersichtliche Darstellung der gesamten Wasseraufbereitung im Blumenzwiebelgarten. Für die Remote-Verbindung wurde ein IXON-Router am JUMO AQUIS touch S angeschlossen. So kann das Prozesswasser jederzeit und überall per PC, Tablet oder Smartphone kontrolliert werden.