High throughput speeds with great reliability

Success Story: temperature control

Temperature control during semiconductor production

As a corporate spin-off of ASM, the Dutch company Levitech produces machines for the semiconductor industry. To achieve the smaller structures and greater uniformity in semiconductors that the market requires, the machine manufacturer had to implement new heat transfer methods. This requires faster temperature correction and above all more precise control. That is why Levitech looked for an alternative to control thermal processes in their Levitor machine. In JUMO, the company from Almere in the Netherlands found the partner with whom the solution could be implemented.

Task

The reactor for wafer manufacturing consists of 2 graphite disks that are heated to the appropriate process temperature. To  generate optimum results, the disks need to exhibit specific features. Gas is used during this process to cause the wafer to  hover between both disks without touching them. To achieve the necessary temperature of 1 200 degrees Celsius, special Kanthal® heating elements are used.

The goal was to apply innovative methods for heat transfer which allow to facilitate very fast heating of the wafer and also very fast cooling. Both sides of the wafer have a uniform opening of 0.15 millimeters to ensure extremely efficient thermal conductivity. The wafer is heated to the temperature of the graphite disks within seconds. These are controlled with a specific heating control system.

Levitor machine for semiconductor production by Levitech

Solution approach

The heating control system is where the thyristor power controller from JUMO comes into play. The JUMO TYA 201 controls the required current and voltage of the Kanthal® heating element in every temperature phase and thereby ensures precise temperature progression during the process. This system enables the wafers to be produced at an optimum temperature that is the same every time.


Wafer in the Levitech Levitor

A wafer in the Levitech Levitor

Heated wafer in the Levitor by Levitech

The wafer in the thermal process of the Levitor by Levitech

Projectoutcome

Thanks to the characteristics of the JUMO TYA 201 thyristor power controller, the requirement for more precise control and faster temperature correction could be met. As a result, the innovative methods of heat transfer can now be applied in semiconductor production. This is how Levitech meets market requirements and increases throughput speed at the same time.

Hohe Durchsatz­geschwindigkeiten mit großer Zuverlässigkeit

Erfolgsgeschichte Temperaturkontrolle

Temperaturkontrolle bei der Halbleiterproduktion

Als Spin-off der Firma ASM entwickelt und produziert das nieder­ländische Unternehmen Levitech Maschinen für die Halbleiter­industrie. Um kleinere Strukturen und eine höhere Einheitlichkeit bei Halbleitern erreichen zu können, die vom Markt gefordert werden, musste der Maschinen­bauer neue Methoden der Wärme­übertragung umsetzen. Hierfür sind eine schnellere Temperatur­korrektur und vor allem eine genauere Steuerung Voraussetzung. Deshalb suchte Levitech nach einer Alternative für die Steuerung des thermischen Prozesses seiner Levitor-Maschine. Mit JUMO fand das Unternehmen aus dem niederländischen Almere den Partner, mit dem die Lösung umgesetzt werden konnte.

Aufgabenstellung

Der Reaktor für die Wafer-Herstellung besteht aus 2 Graphitscheiben, die entsprechend der Prozesstemperatur beheizt  werden. Um optimale Ergebnisse zu erzielen, müssen diese spezifische Eigenschaften aufweisen. Mithilfe von Gas schwebt der Wafer während des Prozesses zwischen den beiden Scheiben, ohne diese zu berühren. Um die erforderliche Temperatur von 1.200 °C erreichen zu können, werden spezielle Heizelemente von Kanthal® verwendet.

Das Ziel war innovative Methoden der Wärmeübertragung anzuwenden zu können. Diese ermöglichen, dass der Wafer sehr schnell erhitzt und auch sehr schnell wieder abgekühlt wird. Auf beiden Seiten des Wafers befindet sich eine gleichmäßige Öffnung von 0,15 mm, die für eine sehr effiziente Wärmeleitfähigkeit sorgt. Der Wafer wird innerhalb von Sekunden auf die
Temperatur der Graphitscheiben erhitzt. Diese werden mit einer spezifischen Heizungssteuerung kontrolliert.


Levitor-Maschine für die Halbleiterproduktion von Levitech

Lösungsansatz

Für die Heizungssteurung kommt ein Thyristorleistungssteller von JUMO zum Einsatz. Der JUMO TYA 201 steuert den gewünschten Strom sowie die Spannung des Kanthal®-Heizelements in jeder Temperaturphase und stellt so den präzisen Temperaturverlauf des Prozesses sicher. Dieses System ermöglicht, dass die Wafer bei einer optimalen und immer identischen Temperatur gefertigt werden.


Wafer im Levitech Levitor

Ein Wafer im Levitech Levitor

Erhitzter Wafer im Levitor von Levitech

Der Wafer im Wärmeprozess des Levitors von Levitech

Projektergebnis

Aufgrund der Eigenschaften des JUMO TYA 201 Thyristor­leistungsstellers konnte der Wunsch nach einer genaueren Steuerung und einer schnelleren Temperatur­korrektur umgesetzt werden. Dadurch können nun die innovativen Methoden der Wärme­übertragung bei der Halbleiter­produktion angewendet werden. So erfüllt Levitech die Markt­anforderungen und erhöht zugleich die Durchsatz­geschwindigkeit.