Warning

Warning

Invalid configuration found. Contact the administrator.

 
History of success: herb drying

Velvet gloves for herbal treatment

Dried herbs have not only become an indispensable part of the kitchen. For millennia, they have also played an important role in the preparation of medications. One commonly encountered form is chamomile tea. The drying process is time-consuming. The herbs must be treated gently to guarantee optimal quality and the highest possible content of the active substance.

Task

At Hofgutkräuter GmbH & Co. KG in Reinheim, Germany various herbs are dried using a belt drying machine for further processing at tea producers or extractors. Among these are chamomile, peppermint, dandelion, arnica root, lemon balm, artichokes, and parsnips.

Depending on the product, the temperature and belt speed of the drying process vary. The products to be dried are brought to the belt dryer with a conveyor belt. As the herbs pass through the system with a total of 5 turning points, they are dried by a supply of warm air.


Solution approach

The belt dryer used up to now by Hofgutkräuter GmbH & Co. KG in Reinheim, Germany has been retrofitted to improve the energy efficiency and increase the flexibility of the system.

At about 20 measuring points on and in the belt dryer, temperatures, pressures, fan and exhaust air speeds, and belt drives are measured as well as controlled for each drying process using the JUMO mTRON T automation system. The system is monitored for malfunctions and the measured values are saved to ensure traceability and documentation.

Humidity and temperature controllers are used in the supply air area. Hygrothermal transducers and temperature probes are also used. In the exhaust air section, JUMO dTRON controllers are deployed (among other devices) as speed sensors along with JUMO differential pressure transmitters. Also, the belt drive is controlled by JUMO dTRON controllers.


Inside view of the belt dryer

Inside view of the belt dryer

Feeding the supply

Feeding the supply

Project outcome

The extensive portfolio allowed JUMO to modernize the entire plant. 14 multichannel controller modules, 16 analog input modules, and 19 digital input or output modules are used in addition to 2 central processing units. The complete sensor technology system was also supplied.

Warnung

Warnung

Ungültige Konfiguration gefunden. Wenden Sie sich an Ihren Administrator.

 
Erfolgsgeschichte Kräutertrocknung

Samthandschuhe für die Kräuterbehandlung

Getrocknete Kräuter sind nicht nur aus der Küche kaum mehr wegzudenken. Sie spielen seit Jahrtausenden auch bei der Zubereitung von Arzneimitteln eine wichtige Rolle. Eine allseits bekannte Darreichungsform dürfte der Kamillentee sein. Der Trocknungsprozess ist aufwändig, da die Kräuter sehr schonend behandelt werden müssen, um eine optimale Qualität und einen größtmöglichen Wirkstoffgehalt zu garantieren.

Aufgabenstellung

Bei der Hofgutkräuter GmbH & Co. KG in Reinheim werden verschiedene Kräuter mittels einer Bandtrocknungsmaschine zur Weiterverarbeitung bei Teeherstellern oder Extraktern getrocknet. Dazu gehören zum Beispiel Kamille, Pfefferminze, Löwenzahn, Arnikawurzeln, Zitronenmelisse, Artischocken und Pastinaken.

Je nach Produkt variiert der Trocknungsprozess im Bezug auf die Temperatur und die Bandgeschwindigkeit. Die zu trocknenden Produkte werden über ein Förderband dem Bandtrockner zugeführt. Beim Weg der Kräuter durch die Anlage mit insgesamt 5 Wendungen wird mittels Zufuhr von warmer Luft getrocknet.


Lösungsansatz

Der bisher bei Hofgutkräuter GmbH & Co. KG in Reinheim verwendete Bandtrockner wurde nun nachgerüstet, um die Energieeffizienz zu verbessern und die Variabilität des Systems zu erhöhen.

An rund 20 Messstellen am und im Bandtrockner werden Temperaturen, Drücke, Ventilator- und Abluft-Drehzahlen und Bandantriebe gemessen und mittels des JUMO mTRON T Automatisierungssystems für den jeweiligen Trocknungsprozess geregelt. Die Anlage wird auf Störungen hin überwacht und die Messwerte zur Rückführbarkeit und Dokumentation gespeichert.

Im Zuluftbereich sind Feuchte- und Temperaturregler eingesetzt werden. Dazu kommen noch Hygrothermogeber und Temperaturfühler. Im Abluftbereich werden unter anderem JUMO dTRON Regler als Drehzahlgeber eingesetzt sowie JUMO-Differenzdruckmessumformer verwendet. Auch der Bandantrieb wird mit JUMO dTRON Reglern gesteuert.


Bandtrockner innen

Bandtrockner innen

Beschickung der Zuführung

Beschickung der Zuführung

Projektergebnis

JUMO konnte mit seinem umfangreichen Portfolio die komplette Anlage modernisieren. Zum Einsatz kommen neben 2 Zentraleinheiten noch 14 Mehrkanalreglermodule, 16 Analogeingangsmodule sowie 19 digitale Ein-oder Ausgangsmodule. Außerdem wurde die komplette Sensorik geliefert.