Warning

Warning

Invalid configuration found. Contact the administrator.

 
History of success: furnace control

Reliable furnace control for excellent products

Over the course of more than 90 years, Vacuumschmelze GmbH & Co. KG, with its headquarters in Hanau, Germany has evolved into one of the world's leading companies for magnetic and metallic special materials as well as products refined from these materials. Today, the company employs over 4000 individuals and owns more than 800 patents. Excellent products for almost all industries and markets are produced every year in the business units semi-finished products, parts, cores, components, and permanent magnets.

Task

When manufacturing magnetic materials, the composition of the melt and all further production steps must be designed in such a way that the customer's wishes are fulfilled by tailor-made materials with unique properties. This is because magnetic materials are used in a wide variety of areas and branches of industry including watch manufacturing, medical technology, regenerative energies, shipbuilding, installation technology, automotive, and aviation industries. During manufacturing, the individual production steps must therefore be regulated and monitored very precisely. VACUUMSCHMELZE GmbH & Co. KG in Hanau, Germany has a wide range of magnetically and physically high-quality semi-finished products and parts, inductive components for electronics, magnets, and magnet systems.

JUMO mTRON T solution for the company VACUUMSCHMELZE GmbH & Co.KG

Solution approach

The manufacturing and refinement of these materials takes place in industrial furnaces which reach temperatures above 1000 °C. In industrial furnaces, precise temperature control and monitoring is necessary to guarantee the quality of the materials. In addition to the quality of the materials, the energy costs play an important role for VACUUMSCHMELZE GmbH & Co. KG as well. Optimized temperature control also ensures increased energy efficiency. At its heart is a central processing unit with a process map for up to 30 input or output modules. The CPU has superordinate communication interfaces including a web server. For individual control applications, the system has a PLC (CODESYS V3), program generator and limit value monitoring functions, as well as math and logic modules. In addition to enabling visualization of all processes, the convenient multifunction panel enables easy-to-operate controllers and program generators. Furthermore, user-dependent access to parameter and configuration data for the overall system is supported. The recording functions of a full-fledged paperless recorder, including a web server, are implemented as a special feature. The extensive JUMO product portfolio which in addition to automation solutions includes thermocouples, controllers, thyristor power controllers, recording devices, and safety temperature limiters was also used to construct the furnaces.

Bell furnace after removal of the heating mantle to start the cooling phase

Bell furnace after removal of the heating mantle to start the cooling phase

Bell furnace during removal of the heating mantle during the cooling phase

Bell furnace during removal of the heating mantle during the cooling phase

Bell furnace – still without a heating mantle in the foreground, with a heating mantle installed in the background

Project outcome

JUMO not only delivers individual components but also, as a service provider, supported the entire project from conceptual formulation to startup on-site. In addition, JUMO took on comprehensive Engineering services.

Warnung

Warnung

Ungültige Konfiguration gefunden. Wenden Sie sich an Ihren Administrator.

 
Erfolgsgeschichte Ofenregelung

Zuverlässige Ofenregelung für exzellente Produkte

Die Vacuumschmelze GmbH & Co. KG mit Sitz in Hanau hat sich in mehr als 90 Jahren zu einem der weltweit führenden Unternehmen für magnetische und metallische Spezialwerkstoffe und daraus veredelte Produkte entwickelt. Heute beschäftigt das Unternehmen über 4000 Mitarbeiter und verfügt über mehr als 800 Patente. In den Geschäftsbereichen Halbzeug, Teile, Kerne, Bauelemente und Dauermagnete entstehen jedes Jahr exzellente Produkte für nahezu alle Branchen und Märkte.

Aufgabenstellung

Bei der Herstellung magnetischer Werkstoffe ist die Zusammensetzung der Schmelze und alle weiteren Produktionsschritte so zu gestalten, dass die Wünsche des Kunden durch maßgeschneiderte Werkstoffe mit einzigartigen Eigenschaften erfüllt werden. Denn magnetische Werkstoffe kommen in den unterschiedlichsten Bereichen und Industriezweigen zum Einsatz – von der Uhrenindustrie über Medizintechnik, regenerative Energien, Schiffsbau und Installationstechnik bis hin zur Automobil- und Luftfahrtindustrie. Bei der Herstellung sind die einzelnen Produktionsschritte deswegen sehr genau zu regeln und zu überwachen. Die Firma VACUUMSCHMELZE GmbH & Co. KG in Hanau hat ein breites Spektrum magnetisch und physikalisch hochwertiger Halbzeuge und Teile, induktive Bauelemente für die Elektronik, Magnete und Magnetsysteme.

JUMO mTRON T Lösung für die Firma VACUUMSCHMELZE GmbH & Co.KG

Lösungsansatz

Die Herstellung und Veredelung dieser Werkstoffe erfolgt in Industrieöfen, die Temperaturen über 1000 °C erreichen. In den Industrieöfen ist eine genaue Regelung und Überwachung der Temperatur notwendig, damit die Qualität der Werkstoffe gewährleistet werden kann. Neben der Qualität der Werkstoffe spielen die Energiekosten für die Firma VACUUMSCHMELZE GmbH & Co. KG auch eine wichtige Rolle. Eine optimierte Regelung der Temperatur sorgt zusätzlich auch dafür, die Energieeffizienz zu steigern. Herzstück ist eine Zentraleinheit mit einem Prozessabbild für bis zu 30 Ein- oder Ausgangsmodule. Die CPU besitzt übergeordnete Kommunikationsschnittstellen inklusive Webserver. Für individuelle Steuerungsapplikationen verfügt das System über eine SPS (CODESYS V3), Programmgeber- und Grenzwertüberwachungsfunktionen sowie Mathematik- und Logikmodule. Das farbige Multifunktionspanel ermöglicht neben der Visualisierung sämtlicher Prozesse die komfortable Bedienung der Regler und Programmgeber. Weiterhin ist ein benutzerabhängiger Zugriff auf Parameter- und Konfigurationsdaten des Gesamtsystems möglich. Als Besonderheit sind die Registrierfunktionen eines vollwertigen Bildschirmschreibers inklusive Webserver implementiert. Für den Ofenbau wurde zusätzlich auf das umfangreiche JUMO Produktportfolio zurückgegriffen, das neben Automatisierungslösungen auch Thermoelemente, Regler, Thyristorleistungssteller, Aufzeichnungsgeräte sowie Sicherheitstemperaturbegrenzer beinhaltet.

Haubenofen bei Abnahme der Heizhaube zum Start der Abkühlphase

Haubenofen bei Abnahme der Heizhaube zum Start der Abkühlphase

Haubenofen bei Abnahme der Heizhaube während der Abkühlphase

Haubenofen bei Abnahme der Heizhaube während der Abkühlphase

Haubenofen, im Vordergrund noch ohne Heizhaube, im Hintergrund mit aufgesetzter Heizhaube

Projektergebnis

JUMO lieferte nicht nur einzelne Komponenten, sondern unterstützte als Dienstleister das gesamte Projekt von der Aufgabenstellung bis zur Inbetriebnahme vor Ort und hat umfangreiche Engineering-Dienstleistungen übernommen.