Warning

Warning

Invalid configuration found. Contact the administrator.

 
Case Study - Decompression chamber

Under water, below ground, under pressure

A decompression chamber or hyperbaric chamber is a room for preventing and treating decompression sickness – also known as "diver's disease" – using hyperbaric oxygen therapy. JUMO's control technology helps the Dutch company IHC Hytech B. V. to equip hyperbaric systems for the treatment of divers and tunnel workers with vital oxygen.

Task

In saturation systems and decompression chambers, different values have to be measured, monitored, and recorded. These include in particular the amount of oxygen, the pressure, the temperature, and the humidity. Measurands, which are calculated from the measured values, are also of vital importance here. For example, the oxygen partial pressure is based on the measurands pressure and oxygen content.

Another requirement was that the measured values had to be able to trigger an optical and acoustic alarm, which also had to feature a mute function.

Instead of the conventional indicating devices a comprehensive system for carrying out the calculations, data processing, and visualization had to be devised. This system needed to be easy to handle and not require any lengthy programming. Furthermore, it needed to be reliable, safe, and stable to meet the demands of the maritime and petrochemical markets.



Decompression chamber from IHC Hytech B.V. © IHC Hytech B.V.

Solution approach

Together with IHC Hytech B.V. the optimum solution was found: a paperless recorder from the JUMO LOGOSCREEN range. These are reliable devices for monitoring and recording the measured values. In addition to its analog and digital inputs the JUMO LOGOSCREEN also offers an array of universal measurement inputs. This degree of versatility is helpful for IHC Hytech B.V. when using it in different systems. The recorder also has math and logic modules with which the aforementioned requirements were able to be implemented. The math module enables the calculation of resulting values using the measured values from different sensors such as the oxygen partial pressure previously mentioned. The logic module triggers an alarm, if requested, when certain limit values have been reached.

Also, IHC Hytech B.V. uses digital devices from the JUMO diraTRON and diraVIEW ranges, which enable the temperature and pressure to be clearly displayed and controlled. The matrix display also provides the user with additional text-based information such as whether the cooling or heating is active.

Hyperbaric chamber for tunnel boring machines © IHC Hytech B.V.

Hyperbaric chamber for tunnel boring machines © IHC Hytech B.V.

JUMO diraVIEW und LOGOSCREEN in a decompression chamber © IHC Hytech B.V.

JUMO diraVIEW und LOGOSCREEN in a decompression chamber © IHC Hytech B.V.

Project outcome

With intelligent measurement data recording and evaluation JUMO was able to fulfil the requirements of IHC Hytech B.V. In addition, the simple programming of the system enables the quick creation of new projects with a few simple steps. Another advantage is that the configuration data can be transferred via USB flash drive so that the obligatory programming with a laptop is no longer necessary. The simple programming concept of the JUMO diraTRON and diraVIEW also made a great impression. This concept saved considerable time – as was already the case with JUMO LOGOSCREEN.

Warnung

Warnung

Ungültige Konfiguration gefunden. Wenden Sie sich an Ihren Administrator.

 
Case Study - Dekompressionskammer

Unter Wasser, unter Tage, unter Druck

Eine Dekompressionskammer oder hyperbare Kammer ist ein Raum für die Prävention und Behandlung der Dekompressionskrankheit – auch als Taucherkrankheit bekannt – durch hyperbare Sauerstofftherapie. JUMO-Regeltechnik hilft dem niederländischen Unternehmen IHC Hytech B. V. bei der Ausstattung von Sättigungssystemen zur Behandlung von Tauchern und Tunnelbauarbeitern mit lebenswichtigem Sauerstoff.

Aufgabenstellung

In Sättigungs­systemen und Dekompressions­kammern müssen unterschiedliche Werte gemessen, überwacht und aufgezeichnet werden. Dies sind vor allem der Sauerstoffanteil, der Druck, die Temperatur und die Luft­feuchtigkeit. Auch Größen, die aus den gemessenen Werten errechnet werden, sind hier von zentraler Bedeutung. Beispiels­weise liegen dem Sauer­stoff­partial­druck die Messgrößen Druck und Sauerstoffanteil zu Grunde.

Als weitere Anforderung sollte auf Grundlage der Messwerte ein optischer und akustischer Alarm ausgelöst werden, der über eine Stumm­schalt­funktion verfügt. Außerdem sollen Temperatur und Druck deutlich angezeigt werden.

Es musste ein umfassendes System gefunden werden, das entgegen der schwierigen Aufgabe einfach zu handhaben ist und keine langwierige Programmierung erfordert. Darüber hinaus muss es sicher und stabil sein, um den anspruchs­vollen maritimen und petro­chemischen Märkten zu genügen.



Dekompressionskammer von IHC Hytech B.V. © IHC Hytech B.V.

Lösungsansatz

Gemeinsam mit IHC Hytech B. V. wurde die optimale Lösung gefunden: Bildschirm­schreiber der JUMO LOGOSCREEN Serie. Sie überwachen und registrieren die Messwerte zuverlässig. Der JUMO LOGOSCREEN bietet zusätzlich zu seinen analogen und digitalen Eingängen eine Vielzahl an universellen Mess­eingängen. Diese Flexibilität hilft IHC Hytech B.V. bei der Anwendung in unterschiedlichen Systemen. Zudem verfügt der Schreiber über Mathematik- und Logikmodule, mit denen die genannten Anforderungen umgesetzt werden konnten. Das mathematische Modul ermöglicht die Berechnung resultierender Werte aus den Messwerten verschiedener Sensoren, wie zum Beispiel den erwähnten Sauer­stoff­partial­druck. Durch das logische Modul wird beim Erreichen bestimmter Grenz­werte wie gewünscht ein Alarm ausgelöst.

Für die klare Anzeige und Regelung von Temperatur und Druck werden die digitalen Geräte der Serien JUMO diraTRON und diraVIEW eingesetzt. Das Matrix-Display stellt dem Benutzer zusätzliche Text&;shy;informationen bereit, ob z. B. die Kühlung oder die Heizung aktiv ist.

Hyperbare Kammer für Tunnelbohrmaschinen © IHC Hytech B.V.

Hyperbare Kammer für Tunnelbohrmaschinen © IHC Hytech B.V.

JUMO diraVIEW und LOGOSCREEN in der Dekompressionskammer © IHC Hytech B.V.

JUMO diraVIEW und LOGOSCREEN in der Dekompressionskammer © IHC Hytech B.V.

Projektergebnis

JUMO konnte mit seiner intelligenten Messdaten­erfassung und -auswertung die Anforderungen von IHC Hytech B.V. erfüllen. Zudem ermöglicht die einfache Programmierung des Bildschirm­schreibers JUMO LOGOSCREEN die schnelle Erstellung neuer Projekte mit wenigen Handgriffen. Hierbei ist ein weiterer Vorteil, dass die Konfigurations­daten per USB-Speicher übertragen werden können und so die obligatorische Programmierung mittels Laptop entfällt. Auch bei JUMO diraTRON und diraVIEW überzeugte das einfache Programmier­konzept und sorgte wie beim JUMO LOGOSCREEN für eine deutliche Zeit­ersparnis.