Warning

Warning

Invalid configuration found. Contact the administrator.

 
History of success: composting

On solid ground

Composting is the biological process of the nutrient cycle during which organic material that is easily recyclable is broken down by bacteria and fungi under the influence of atmospheric oxygen. In the process, other than carbon dioxide water-soluble minerals such as nitrates, ammonium salts, phosphates, and potassium/magnesium compounds that act as a fertilizer are also released. Nowadays, composting is no longer something which only takes place in people's gardens, but is mainly carried out on a large scale by local municipalities. In Germany, more than 1000 composting plants exist for this purpose.

Task

According to data from the German Federal Statistics Office, in 2011 around 14 million metric tons of biogenic waste was composted or fermented in biogas plants and subsequently re-used on soil in Germany. The German Biowaste Ordinance specifies that the stipulated temperatures for all batches of a composting must be documented. Proof is necessary because dangerous microorganisms are reliably eliminated as a result of the temperature in the material. This data must always be available to the "Bundesgütegemeinschaft Kompost" (Federal Compost Association). The temperature curve must be recorded during hygienic treatment using constant and non-invasive direct temperature measurement in the material being treated. In addition, the temperature must be recorded automatically. Often, this temperature check is carried out manually by the operators of composting plants. The costs for personnel are correspondingly high.

JUMO Wtrans B being used in a heap

Solution approach

During composting, a temperature of more than 55 °C must act upon the entire mixture for, if possible, a consecutive period of 2 weeks, or 65 °C over 1 week. The treatment temperature must be measured and documented in regular intervals – at least once per work day. Devices used for temperature measurement must be calibrated regularly – at least once a year – and the calibration must be documented. Only if documentation of the indirect process control is verifiable at any time can the manufactured composts be deemed hygienically harmless. Often, this temperature check is carried out manually by the operators of composting plants. The costs for personnel are correspondingly high. Disposal provider "GfA Lüneburg - gkAöR" has chosen the JUMO mTRON T automation system and JUMO Wtrans B wireless temperature probes. As a result, the process is monitored completely automatically and documented in a tamper-proof manner.

Composting plant JUMO Wtrans

Antenna of the JUMO Wtrans receiver

JUMO Wtrans frontal view

JUMO Wtrans solution

Project outcome

Standard predefined screen masks considerably reduce the startup times for the user. The entire process of temperature monitoring and documentation is now much simpler for GfA Lüneburg thanks to the implemented solution.

Warnung

Warnung

Ungültige Konfiguration gefunden. Wenden Sie sich an Ihren Administrator.

 
Erfolgsgeschichte Kompostierung

Erde gut, alles gut!

Kompostierung bezeichnet den biologischen Prozess des Nährstoffkreislaufs, bei dem leicht verwertbares organisches Material unter Einfluss von Luftsauerstoff von Bakterien und Pilzen abgebaut wird. Dabei werden neben Kohlendioxid auch wasserlösliche Mineralstoffe freigesetzt, wie beispielsweise Nitrate, Ammoniumsalze, Phosphate, Kalium- und Magnesiumverbindungen, die als Dünger wirken. Kompostierung findet heute nicht mehr nur im heimischen Garten statt, sondern wird vor allen Dingen von Kommunen in großem Maßstab betrieben. Bundesweit gibt es hierfür über 1 000 Kompostierungsanlagen.

Aufgabenstellung

Nach Angaben des Statistischen Bundesamtes wurden in Deutschland im Jahr 2011 etwa 14 Millionen Tonnen biogene Abfälle kompostiert oder in Biogasanlagen vergoren und anschließend auf Böden verwertet. Nach der Bioabfallverordnung müssen die vorgegebenen Temperaturen aller Chargen einer Kompostierung belegt werden. Ein Nachweis ist erforderlich, da durch die Temperatur im Material eine zuverlässige Abtötung gefährlicher Mikroorganismen erfolgt. Diese Daten müssen der "Bundesgütegemeinschaft Kompost" jederzeit zur Verfügung gestellt werden können. Der Temperaturverlauf ist während der hygienisierenden Behandlung mit einer ständigen und eingriffsfreien direkten Temperaturmessung im zu behandelnden Material und einer automatisierten Temperaturaufzeichnung zu erfassen. Oftmals wird diese Temperaturkontrolle bei Betreibern von Kompostierungsanlagen manuell mit einem entsprechend hohen Personalaufwand vorgenommen.

JUMO Wtrans B im Einsatz in einer Miete

Lösungsansatz

Im Verlauf der Kompostierung muss eine Temperatur von über 55 °C über einen möglichst zusammenhängenden Zeitraum von 2 Wochen oder 65 °C über eine Woche auf das gesamte Mischgut vorliegen. Die Behandlungstemperatur muss in regelmäßigen Abständen, aber mindestens einmal pro Werktag, gemessen und dokumentiert werden. Die Geräte zur Temperaturmessung müssen regelmäßig, mindestens einmal pro Jahr, kalibriert werden, wobei die Kalibrierung zu dokumentieren ist. Nur durch eine jederzeit nachvollziehbare Dokumentation der indirekten Prozessprüfung gelten die hergestellten Komposte als hygienisch unbedenklich. Oftmals wird diese Temperaturkontrolle bei Betreibern von Kompostierungsanlagen manuell mit einem entsprechend hohen Personalaufwand vorgenommen. Die "GFA Lüneburg gkAöR" hat sich für das Automatisierungssystem JUMO mTRON T und JUMO Wtrans B Funktemperaturfühlern entschieden. Der komplette Prozess wird somit vollautomatisch überwacht und manipulationssicher dokumentiert.

Kompostieranlage JUMO Wtrans

Antenne des JUMO Wtrans Empfängers

JUMO Wtrans Frontaldarstellung

JUMO Wtrans Lösung

Projektergebnis

Durch serienmäßig vordefinierte Bildschirmmasken reduzieren sich Inbetriebnahmezeiten für den Anwender erheblich. Der gesamte Prozess der Temperaturüberwachung und -dokumentation hat sich für die GFA Lüneburg mit der jetzt realisierten Lösung deutlich vereinfacht.