Bachelor of Science

Digital industry

Studying and shaping the future on the side? No problem! With the dual study program at JUMO.

Your profile:

  • Completed vocational training (in the electrotechnical, information technology or commercial field) and subject-specific or general technical/higher education entrance qualification
  • good performance in mathematics, German and English
  • mathematics achievement course for technical courses of study of high importance
  • analytical skills, conceptual way of thinking and a structured way of working
  • independence, ability to work in a team and reliability
  • organizational and communication skills as well as assertiveness
  • Ability to work under pressure, perseverance, high willingness to learn and commitment

Organizational principles:

  • The dual study program combines a scientific study with a practice-integrated training in the company.
  • The study program lasts 3 years and is divided into 6 study semesters, each with 12 weeks of theory and 12 weeks of practice.
  • At the end of the 12-week theory phases, examinations are held for the completed modules. The 6th semester is used, among other things, for writing the bachelor's thesis.
  • The degrees of accredited dual study programs are equivalent to those of universities and universities of applied sciences and allow access to master's degree programs at universities in Germany and abroad.

Does this apply to you?

Are you looking for a course of study with technical and business management content? Are you interested in the combination of basic knowledge in the fields of electrical engineering and automation technology together with subject-specific lectures in business administration and the digitalization of industrial business processes? Do you want to understand business processes holistically and implement new ideas in products and processes? Then the Industrial Engineering - Digital Industry degree program is just right for you.

... and this is how the study program works:

During the basic studies, you will be taught the fundamentals of technical and business administration in the theoretical phases at the dual university. Lectures are held in mathematics, physics/mechanics, design, electrical engineering, computer science, finance and accounting, business administration, and process and quality management. In the main study period, the lectures are expanded to include the topics of production management, digitalization of industrial production and business processes, and data management. In the practical phases, the focus is on the interdisciplinary application of the theoretically learned knowledge. In some cases, this takes the form of independent project work, which is supervised by a contact person in the specialist department. In the dual study program, theoretical content is combined with practical implementation. Here you also benefit from the experience of the employees. These practical phases can take place both at the headquarters in Fulda and abroad.

... and after graduation:

... Thanks to your excellent engineering and business education, you will have the opportunity to work as a project manager in middle management or at the middle management level in a wide range of departments. The field of application ranges across the entire value chain, including data generation and use as well as digital transformation and implementation of digitally networked processes. Depending on your personal goals and commitment, a wide range of career opportunities and international assignments to our subsidiaries are possible.

Bachelor of Science

Digitale Industrie

Studieren und nebenbei die Zukunft gestalten? Kein Problem! Mit dem Dualen Studium bei JUMO.

Ihr Profil:

  • abgeschlossene Berufsausbildung (im elektrotechnischen, informationstechnischen oder kaufmännischen Bereich) und fachgebundene bzw. allgemeine Fach-/Hochschulreife
  • gute Leistungen in Mathematik, Deutsch und Englisch
  • Mathematik-Leistungskurs für technische Studiengänge von hoher Bedeutung
  • analytische Fähigkeiten, konzeptionelle Denkweise und eine strukturierte Arbeitsweise
  • Selbstständigkeit, Teamfähigkeit und Zuverlässigkeit
  • Organisations- und Kommunikationsfähigkeit sowie Durchsetzungsvermögen
  • Belastbarkeit, Ausdauer, hohe Lern- und Einsatzbereitschaft

Organisatorische Grundsätze:

  • Das duale Studium verbindet ein wissenschaftliches Studium mit einer praxisintegrierten Ausbildung im Unternehmen.
  • Das Studium dauert 3 Jahre und ist in 6 Studienhalbjahre mit jeweils 12 Wochen Theorie und 12 Wochen Praxis eingeteilt.
  • Am Ende der 12-wöchigen Theoriephasen finden die Prüfungen zu den abgeschlossenen Modulen statt. Das 6. Semester dient unter anderem dem Anfertigen der Bachelorarbeit.
  • Die Abschlüsse akkreditierter dualer Studiengänge sind denen von Universitäten und Fachhochschulen gleichgestellt und ermöglichen den Zugang zu Master-Studiengängen an in- und ausländischen Hochschulen.

Trifft das auf dich zu?

Du suchst ein Studium mit technischen und betriebswirtschaftlichen Inhalten? Die Kombination aus Grundlagenkenntnissen in den Bereichen Elektrotechnik und Automatisierungstechnik zusammen mit fachspezifischen Vorlesungen der Betriebswirtschaftslehre und der Digitalisierung von industriellen Geschäftsprozessen wecken dein Interesse? Du möchtest Unternehmensprozesse ganzheitlich erfassen und neue Ideen in Produkten und Prozessen umsetzten? Dann ist der Studiengang Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen – Digitale Industrie – genau der Richtige für dich.

... und so läuft das Studium ab:

Während des Grundstudiums werden dir in den Theoriephasen an der dualen Hochschule Grundlagen mit technischem und betriebswirtschaftlichem Inhalt vermittelt. Vorlesungen finden hierzu u. a. in den Fächern Mathematik, Physik/Mechanik, Konstruktionslehre, Elektrotechnik, Informatik sowie in Finanz- und Rechnungswesen, Betriebswirtschaftslehre und Prozess- und Qualitätsmanagement statt. Im Hauptstudium werden die Vorlesungen um die Themenfelder Produktionswirtschaft, Digitalisierung von industriellen Produktions- und Geschäftsprozessen und Datenmanagement erweitert. In den Praxisphasen steht die interdisziplinäre Anwendung des theoretisch erlernten Wissens im Vordergrund. Teilweise erfolgt dies in eigenständig zu erstellenden Projektarbeiten, die durch einen Ansprechpartner der Fachabteilung betreut werden. Im dualen Studium werden theoretische Inhalte mit praktischen Umsetzungen kombiniert. Hierbei profitierst du auch von den Erfahrungen der Mitarbeiter/-innen. Diese Praxisphasen können sowohl am Hauptsitz in Fulda als auch im Ausland stattfinden.

... und nach dem Studium:

... hast du aufgrund deiner sehr guten ingenieurwissenschaftlichen und betriebswirtschaftlichen Ausbildung die Möglichkeit, Tätigkeitsgebiete im mittleren Management bzw. in der mittleren Führungsebene in den unterschiedlichsten Abteilungen als Projektleiter wahrzunehmen. Das Einsatzgebiet reicht über die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette einschließlich der Datengenerierung und -verwendung sowie der digitalen Transformation und Umsetzung digital vernetzter Prozesse. Abhängig von deinen persönlichen Zielen und deiner Einsatzbereitschaft sind vielfältige Aufstiegsmöglichkeiten und Auslandsentsendungen in unsere Tochtergesellschaften möglich.